News Story

September 13, 2018

Scholar Program at La Roche Offers College Credit to High School Students

PITTSBURGH, Sept. 13, 2018 – La Roche University is currently accepting high school students into its Scholar Program for the 2018-19 school year. Students may apply online through Nov. 1.

Scholar, a concurrent enrollment partnership program, offers qualified high school sophomores, juniors and seniors the opportunity to earn college credits at a reduced cost. Participating students earn credits from La Roche by taking college-level courses at their high schools.

“The Scholar program provides a direct connection between a secondary and post-secondary institution, and it’s an opportunity for collegial collaboration,” Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs Father Thomas Schaeffer, Ph.D. said. “High school students are able to earn college credits at a fraction of the cost, and then often save more money in the long run by eliminating an entire semester of classes while in college.”

To enroll in Scholar, a student must be a sophomore, junior or senior, have a minimum GPA of 3.0 and be recommended by a teacher.

Newly established partnerships added this school year are Highlands High School, Knoch High School and West Mifflin Area High School.  Several partners recently expanded their program offerings as well.

The following is a list of Scholar Program partners and the number of approved course offerings at each:

  • Avonworth High School (1)
  • Baldwin High School (4)
  • Belle Vernon Area High School (2)
  • Bishop Canevin High School (2)
  • Carlynton High School (3)
  • Central Catholic High School (1)
  • Clairton High School (1)
  • Cornell High School (5)
  • Elizabeth Forward High School (4)
  • Franklin Regional High School (10)
  • Hampton High School (2)
  • Hempfield Area High School (8)
  • Highlands High School (1)
  • Knoch High School (1)
  • Moon Area High School (1)
  • North Allegheny High School (41)
  • North Catholic High School (2)
  • North Hills High School (2)
  • Our Lady of Sacred Heart High School (1)
  • Penn-Trafford High School (15)
  • Pine-Richland High School (2)
  • Plum High School (1)
  • Saint Joseph High School (6)
  • Shaler Area High School (1)
  • West Mifflin Area High School (2)
  • Westmoreland Intermediate Unit (1)

For more information please visit or contact Leah Conway,coordinator of dual enrollment and secondary school programs, at or 412-536-1286.

About La Roche University: A private liberal arts college in the North Hills of Pittsburgh, La Roche University offers more than 50 undergraduate majors, six graduate degree programs and one doctoral program, with particular strengths in education, business, criminal justice, psychology, and health and medical sciences as well as interior design and graphic design. This residential college provides a vibrant campus community for more than 1,500 men and women enjoying 30-plus student organizations and an exciting NCAA Div. III athletics program. Founded by the Sisters of Divine Providence in 1963, La Roche University embraces its Catholic heritage while welcoming people of all faiths and backgrounds. With a legacy of social justice and a commitment to international exchange, La Roche University educates students to be lifelong learners and achievers in an increasingly diverse and global society.